2013 Blues Music Awards

Courtesy Blues Foundation

Courtesy Blues Foundation

The Blues Foundation held their huge annual Blues Music Awards in Memphis, Tennessee, and member voting revealed a great list of worthy winners at this year’s event. As always, there were live performances that couldn’t be seen anywhere else. The entire event was broadcast live on Sirius-XM Radio’s B.B. King’s Bluesville channel. Check out the complete list below and Don’t Miss Episode 1318 of Full-Time Blues Radio, when we’ll play music from the winners!

Big winners at this year’s event included Tedeschi Trucks Band, who took home three trophies, including the Gibson Guitar Award for best guitar player, which went to Derek Trucks. The late Michael Burks led the way for posthumous honors, winning both Album of the Year and Contemporary Blues Album of the Year.

But, Curtis Salgado was the night’s biggest honoree. Salgado, who has been battling cancer for some time now, and actually had to come off the road for a bit, won the night’s biggest proze – B.B. King Entertainer of the Year, as well as Soul Blues Male Artist and Soul Blues Album of the Year!
Click Here to visit the Blues Foundation at Blues.org

2013 Blues Music Award Winners
Acoustic Artist: Eric Bibb
Acoustic Album: Not Alone – Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin
Traditional Blues Album: Double Dynamite – The Mannish Boys
Traditional Blues Male Artist: Magic Slim
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster
Historical: Bear Family Records for Plug It In! Turn It Up! Electric Blues – Various Artists
DVD: Eagle Rock Entertainment for Live at Checkerboard Lounge – Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Victor Wainwright
Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw
Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Rick Estrin
Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside
Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger
Gibson Guitar: Derek Trucks
Rock Blues Album: Everybody’s Talkin’ – Tedeschi Trucks Band
Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band
Contemporary Blues Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Tab Benoit
Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Janiva Magness
Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
Song: “I Won’t Cry” written by Janiva Magness & Dave Darling – Stronger For It (Janiva Magness)
Best New Artist Debut: They Call Me Big Llou – Big LLou Johnson
Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas
Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado
Soul Blues Album: Soul Shot – Curtis Salgado
B.B King Entertainer: Curtis Salgado

One thought on “2013 Blues Music Awards

  1. Pingback: Listen: Episode 1318 Blues Music Awards | Full-Time Blues Radio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s