Listen: Episode 1440

Stream This Episode On Demand

This week’s shift inside the Home of New & Independent Blues Music features an incredible selection of songs. There are tracks of Blues styles based in Texas, North Mississippi Hill Country, Chicago, and Memphis style Soul. There are sets of acoustic tracks, and piano-based Blues, as well. One of those piano-based tracks comes off the latest album by John Mayall. A Special Life dropped earlier this year, but is set for release on special gatefold double vinly LP on October 27, 2014. Make sure to enjoy the video below this week’s playlist, which features comments from John Mayall ahead of a track off this new disc. There’s also a link to his official website.

Courtesy Sacred Cat

Courtesy Sacred Cat

The featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is a double dip of music from Nathan James. “I Know I’ve Got Religion” comes off one of two brand new albums that Nathan is releasing simultaneously: Hear Me Calling. That’s followed by the track “Take You Back Home,” from his other brand new release, Natural Born That Way.

Courtesy Sacred Cat

Courtesy Sacred Cat

Nathan says the project was born out of his indecision on whether to record an album alone, or another Nathan James and the Rhythm Scratchers disc. He opted to do both. Hear Me Calling features Nathan alone, playing mostly acoustic, but also some electric guitar. Natural Born That Way features the full band showcasing all of their influences of early Blues masters.

Both albums are available from Sacred Cat Records beginning October 28, 2014. You can find complete album information, Nathan’s tour schedule, and much more on his official website,

1. Chris Duarte – Ain’t Gonna Hurt No More – Lucky 13
2. John Mayall – Big Town Playboy – A Special Life
3. Arthur Migliazza – Thank You Blues – Laying It Down
4. Hannes Otahal – Axl Special – Boogie Woogie Walker
5. Josh Hoyer & the Shadow Boxers – Call Me (I’ll Be Sure to Let You Down Again) –
Josh Hoyer And The Shadow Boxers
6. Gravel Road – Lord Have Mercy – El Scuerpo
7. Howard & the White Boys – The Blues Are Killing Me – Rosa’s Lounge
8. Bill Blue – Ain’t It Funny – Mojolation
9. Rory Block – I’m So Glad – Hard Luck Child: A Tribute To Skip James
10. Lee Palmer – 60 Clicks – 60 Clicks
11. Eddie Martin – It’s a Mystery to Me – Blues Took Me By The Hand Vol. 1 Acoustic
12. Nathan James – I Know I’ve Got Religion – Hear Me Calling
13. Nathan James & the Rhythm Scratchers – Take You Back Home – Natural Born That Way

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1439

Listen: Episode 1438

One thought on “Listen: Episode 1440

  1. Pingback: Listen: Halloween Blues 2014 | Full-Time Blues Radio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s